In Memory of Mom (12/29/33-7/21/77)

33 years ago today, my mother died. This upcoming  Friday will be the anniversary of both of my parents’ funerals.  We buried them on the same date, 19 years apart.

When I was 31 years old, my father died two-day prior to the anniversary of my mother’s death.  It hit me very hard, not only because I mourned my father’s death, but because I also grieved for my mother.

My Mom was 43 years old when she died, two years younger than I am today.  When I was three years old and my sister was in the first grade, Mom was diagnosed with breast cancer.  From the beginning, my mother’s primary goal was survival. She had a burning desire to raise her children.  To that aim, she underwent several painful procedures to extend her life so she could achieve this.  When she passed away,  I was twelve and my sister was three weeks away from turning sixteen.  However, she did much more than raise us, she gave us a life long example of strong Christian faith, determination and love of family.  My mother trusted God would give her the strength and courage her needed to fight the disease. 

My mother was not creative like my father, however she was the brain and heart of our family.  Her talents were in education, organization, finance, and motherhood.  My Mom ran her household like a classroom.  Academics, art and religion were cultivated in our house.  She encouraged my sister and me to learn, and do our personal best in school and in life.  Long after her death, I still hear my mother’s voice in my head encouraging me to try harder, to be less selfish, to put family first.  From my mother, I inherited my work ethic, my organization skills, and my desire to overcome obstacles in life.  She was the driving force that motivated me to graduate from college and start a family .

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Faith, Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to In Memory of Mom (12/29/33-7/21/77)

  1. Tish says:

    What a lovely tribute to your mother. I just passed the 17 year point of losing my mother. I remember her every day and know she’s up there keeping an eye on me!

  2. Bozena says:

    Beautiful tribute to your Mom,Mary. You certainly inherited the best of both of them.

  3. Kyooty says:

    What a very wonderful gift your parents have given you.

  4. Bridget says:

    Your mom sounds lovely.
    And she(and your dad) obviously did a great job with the time they had with you!
    Hugs and prayers for you, friend.

  5. Kim D. in WI says:

    What sweet memories of your dear mom!
    Thanks for sharing and God’s blessings to you!

  6. Pingback: Christmas Cookies: Chocolate Chip Bars | A Simple Twist of Faith

  7. Pingback: Wordless Wednesday: Fun with Frosty | A Simple Twist of Faith

  8. Geri says:

    You are indeed a tribute to your parents in how you are instilling the values you learned from them into your girls. They are blessed to know your parents through you.

Leave a Reply

