CSA???

Okay, I will be the first to admit I did not know what CSA stood for…Community Supported Agriculture.  In CSA, you buy a share from a local farmer and he provides you with a weekly “box” of vegetables, and fruits during the harvest season. 

Growing up my Dad tended a wonderful garden, and of course, I took it for granted as a child.  He grew carrots, corn, string beans, squash, pumpkins, and rhubarb. He also planted several fruit trees, and grafted an apricot branch on to a plum-tree.

We had friends over for brunch after church today, and we were discussing vegetable gardens.  My friend has gardening for a few years now, and was giving my husband some tips.  We have a small vegetable garden Rick started from seeds this year. So far, it has  produced green beans for a few meals.

The conversation lead to a discussion of organic versus local produce.  The USDA certification of “organic” is very expensive, and out of the financial reach of most small-scale farmers.  Then when my family was napping this afternoon,  I stumbled upon this article about on Simple Mom.  Through a link, I was able to find several local farms that participate in CSA programs.

Frankly, organic produce  is out of my price range for my grocery budget.  I am wondering Community Supported Agriculture would also be?  Have any of you participated in CSA?  How about a backyard garden?

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Food & Drink and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CSA???

  1. Kyooty says:

    hehe I love it when someone finds something “new” to them :) I hven’t participated here but there is a local “veggie” stand that is beside our Butchers place. The veggies there are all sold by locals that have too much to use up within a certain time frame. This week it’s Carrots and Strawberries. YUMMY

  2. Candi says:

    I never knew such a thing existed…thanks for the tip!
    I’ve always wanted to start a home garden, but never made the plunge. Maybe someday!

  3. Jordana says:

    We don’t participate in a CSA, but a number of my friends do and most of them are very happy with it and tell me that the prices are very good. The cautions being that you need to make sure the CSA provides things you want to eat and knowing your own ability to cook on the fly with whatever you get for the week.

    If a particular farmer grows a lot of greens and you don’t like greens, that wouldn’t be a good CSA for you. Some let you put in preferences and things you don’t want — others don’t have those options.

    The reasons we don’t participate are: I can grow in my own garden most of the things I know I want. I have plenty of room to grow far more than we already do, if I ever get around to expending the garden more some day. I don’t do well cooking with random veggies. Although I like to cook new recipes frequently, I like to be able to plan ahead a bit. And my final reason is laziness — I don’t want to have to be required to show up some place (that I need to drive to) every week between set hours to pick stuff up.

Leave a Reply

