7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 1

1. This is my first volume of “7 Quick Takes Friday” which is hosted by Jen at Conversion Diary  .  Jen is a former atheist who converted to Christianity five years ago. Check her out!

2. Taking care of two five-years olds + one two-year old= a good night’s sleep for Mommy! Speaking of firsts, this was my first week at my new job, taking care of my daughter’s classmate.  We had a great time. Highlights include trips to the aquarium, the botanical gardens water park, and the library. Today, we had water gun fights in the backyard to beat the heat!  

3. It was also the first week of my oldest daughter taking swimming lessons.  She is a natural, thanks to her Daddy playing in the water with her down by the bay.  She is in the four and five-year old class with seven other children.  They are all  just too cute. It is a joy to watch them.  

4. It’s official, I am a home schooling Mom. I have filled out the form and paid my annual dues to HSLDA.  I have bought all the curriculum and books for kindergarten.  Two weeks ago, I went to a home school conference. This week, my oldest daughter started working on her phonics, reading, and  handwriting.  Next week, she will start Math work book.  Next week,  I will also send in my intent to home school form to our local school district.  In it, I will  include a copy of my degree and the list of curriculum.

5. 4.5 pounds to go to my goal weight of 135.  Good news, since I quit my full-time job in April  to stay home with my girls, I have not gained weight.  Bad news, I have only lost 1.5 pounds. 

6. Six days until vacation…I am excited.  More details to follow!

7. Today, my FIL gave me a trinket box of my recently deceased MIL.  He said to me, ” I thought of you when I saw it because of the inscription. I know you were worried about finances when you quit work. But it seems that, everything is working out for your family.”  The inscription read, ” The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want…Psalm 23″.

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Faith, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday Volume 1

  1. Tish says:

    I like all 7. Let’s start with the last–how nice that your FIL thought of you with that. And the connection to your MIL, too. nice. It must feel great to be on your way with the home schooling. You’re going to be a great teacher and your girls will love it. Is the classmate (I think of him as “snips & snails” lol), benefitting from home school time, too? My final comment is that you’re so right about cause & effect with kids and sleep. I see the same effect here, especially on the days when I watch E & J. Hope you have a great week. If you’re like me, the washer & dryer will start going non-stop as your vacation approaches.

    • Yes, “snips & snails” is benefitting, although he is more interested in playing outside, a typical boy. He also naps longer than my daughter, and during this quiet time, “Lady Bug” is completing most of her work. She gets up, and says, “Mommy, I want to do home school”.

Leave a Reply

