Stress? What stress?

Yesterday, I woke up with a sore throat, and did not think much of it.  By 1:30 PM, as I sat suffering on a park bench, watching my kids play, I knew I had something serious. Today, I was diagnosed with strep throat. Thank goodness, my father-in-law offered to pick up my oldest from her pre-k class, and now the baby is napping. 

  Earlier today, I was talking to a good friend of mine, and said, “Isn’t it funny now that the stress is out of my life, I get sick?”.  She laughed, and said “Maybe you are addicted to stress?”  After I got off the phone, I started thinking, “Am I really under less stress since I left my job two weeks ago? “

 Many of my friends, career women who are now stay-at-home Moms warned me about the transition not being as smooth as they expected, although they would not trade it for the world.  One friend, who was a RN treating cancer patients for 16 years before she made the transition, said being a full-time Mom  was the hardest job she ever experienced.  Another friend, who was a CPA, said it was strange to see April 15th come and go just like any ordinary day.  So, I have a question for those of you that made this change to full-time Mom, what was the most difficult thing for you when you made the transition?  What was the easiest?  What took you completely by surprise?

About Mary @ a simple twist of faith

I am: a rookie at blogging, just started my blog in May 2010 when I became a full-time Mom. a child of God, a follower of Jesus Christ, a listener of the Holy Spirit, and a Catholic. Pro-Life, , Pro-Woman and an adoption advocate wife to a wonderful husband for 12 years proud and grateful mother to two beautiful daughters ages 5 and 3. a coffee drinking fool, so I can keep up with my little girls a home schooling novice using my kindergartener as a guinea pig a runner, it keeps me sane and in my size 8 pants an avid reader , now of Beatrix Potter's books a former workaholic & fashion follower a lover of chocolate, and wine, and the finer things in life, although I cannot afford them anymore!
This entry was posted in Coping with change. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stress? What stress?

  1. Carmen says:

    I have NO input on that, as I’ve been home forever and ever, but I wanted to tell you that I am so happy you started this blog and I hope you feel better SOON! Call me if you need back up!

    • Thanks Carmen! I am feeling a lot better today, thanks to the antibiotics and my father-in-law giving me abreak yesterday. My house looks like a bomb exploded, but my Mom always said only dull women have immaculate houses!

  2. politicalhousewyf says:

    You mean you haven’t reached the eating-bonbons-all-day stage yet? ;)

    What surprised me was how busy I could be all day and still get to the end of the day without being able to say, “I accomplished x, y, and z today.” Instead it’s, “Well, I started the laundry, did some math with the kids but I don’t think they got it so we’ll have to re-do it tomorrow, pulled a few of the thousands of weeds…” There’s usually progress, but not always completions.

    Hope your throat’s feeling better!

  3. tricia sladky says:

    Mary,
    Great post!
    Steven and I had been DINKs for 13 years before kids. I worked full time for 15 years in Oncology. Loved every minute of it! Took loads of vacations, read tons of books, ran lots of marathons, we just had a kickin good time together…..THEN these two boys happened.
    Huge huge huge adjustment. In fact I am still adjusting to life as a stay at home mom six years later. It has been the hardest job I will ever do.
    I think it will pay off someday.
    Congratulations on your promotion as stay at home mom.
    Tricia

  4. Jill says:

    I just became a stay at home mom to two (a 2 yr old and 8 month old)about a month ago. I agree that you stay busy and have little to show for it somedays. It has been easier than I expected, because they are so much more relaxed now that they are home with me all day. They seem to like the slower pace, rather than getting up and racing out the door. It has been wonderful and definitely the best decision we have ever made! What a blessing! Congrats to you on your new role.

  5. Jill,
    Thanks for sharing. I totally agree my girls are much more relaxed, especially my youngest. The two of us used to be out the door by 6:45 am every weekday morning. I am struggling with my new routine, however I am more relaxed so the whole dynamic in our house has changed.

Leave a Reply

